Skip to content

7 Korean Artists who have been included in NME’s 100 Rising Artists of 2023: NewJeans, IVE, and extra

The worldwide music trade’s new yr was kicked off lately with NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing. Whereas end-of-the-year is devoted to wrapping up artists who dominate the trade, yr beginnings predict those who’ll most certainly take over within the coming time.

New Musical Categorical, generally referred to as NME, releases an annual listing of rising artists from all around the globe who’ve been rising immensely regardless of being new.

This yr’s NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing had seven Korean artists featured, together with many rookie Okay-pop artists like IVE and NewJeans. Final yr, the listing had about six Korean artists sitting on it, specifically STAYC, Adora, Bibi, DVWN, msftz, and Seori. The rise in numbers on NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing already signifies the extra publicity and a focus that the Okay-pop trade has been gaining globally.

Balming Tiger, LE SSERAFIM, and 5 different Korean artists on NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing which are predicted to dominate the music trade in 2023

1) 1300

The 5 members of the Korean-Australian band that emerged from a basement in Sydney, Australia, got here collectively in 2021. 1300, pronounced as “one-three-hundred,” was a collaboration between an already present three-member band, aisleland, who met the opposite two members at a listening social gathering. Their coming collectively felt so proper that the 5 began to create music the identical evening in a basement.

1300 contains of rako and DALI HART, who contribute to the vocals and dance, gayo is the rapper, whereas Nerdie and pokari. sweat produces music. Their distinctive and intriguing musical creation has garnered a whole lot of consideration, making them a standout within the Okay-rap style. The group’s bi-lingual discography, which incorporates fascinating tracks like No Caller ID, Smashmouthand so forth., has achieved notably nicely with the viewers.

2) Balming Tiger

This South Korean music band consisting of four-plus members — San Yawn, Wnjn, Mudd the Pupil, and Omega Saipen — emerged in 2018 with its debut single, I am Sick. All of the members have distinctive roles to play within the band. San Yawn is the director and Omega Saipen performs because the rapper. Winjn and Mudd the Pupil, however, take up songwriting.

Nonetheless, whereas these 4 members are seen on the floor, extra artists work within the background, comparable to DJ Abyss, music video administrators Jan-Qui and Leesuho, songwriter Sogumm, editor Henson, and Unsinkable.

Whereas the group is kind of well-known within the Alt Okay-pop style, which additionally bagged them many awards, their current collaboration with BTS RM within the tune SEXY NUKIM has gained rather more publicity for the band, concurrently having them pop up on NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing.

3) IVE

The six-member Okay-pop lady group fashioned by Starship Leisure in 2021 that has been some of the dominating fourth-generation Okay-pop artists is subsequent in line on NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing.

IVE consists of Rei, Gaeul, Yujin, Wonyoung, Liz, and Leeseo, with no particular place allotted to them. With their minimal but addictive discography, the group has been gaining followers right here and there.

Simply over a yr after their debut, IVE has bagged a number of notable awards, together with MAMA Track of the 12 months for LOVE DIVE in 2022, the Golden Disc Rookie Artist Award in 2023, and the MAMA New Feminine Artists in 2022.


Budding out of the formation of Supply Music and Hybe Company is the five-member Okay-pop lady group, LE SSERAFIM, that debuted in 2022. The group was initially a six-member group earlier than their former member Kim Ga-ram left the group in July 2022.

The group is made up of Kazuha, Yunji, Eunchae, Chaewon, and Sakura, the place the final two members have been beforehand a part of the now-disbanded Okay-pop lady group, IZ*ONE.

LE SSERAFIM’s two EPs have been dominating the Okay-pop trade the place each their title tracks, fearless and ANTIFRAGILE, amongst a lot of their different songs, went viral. They grew fashionable for his or her distinctive tune manufacturing and choreography, which finally positioned them as a nominee for the Finest New Artist Award on the thirty second Seoul Music Awards and on NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing.

5) Lee Younger-hee

Lee Younger-ji is the primary and solely Korean soloist to sit down on NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing. Identified for her de ella’s spit-fire raps, the artist has grown so much over the previous few years since her debut de ella again in 2019 with the only darkish room. She participated in fashionable South Korean rap actuality TV exhibits and have become the winner of each Excessive College Rapper 3 and Present Me the Cash 11.

Aside from her spectacular rapping abilities, the artist can be identified for her pure humor, which she showcases on her YouTube selection present, No Put together/ Nothing A lot Ready. Younger-ji’s hottest songs embody Day & Night time ft. Jay Park and Simply.

6) NewJeans

NewJeans is the rookie Okay-pop lady group that is been overtaking the Okay-pop trade with intriguing ideas. It debuted in 2022 underneath the ADOR company owned HYBE Labels. Proper from its debut EP, New Denims, the group has garnered a whole lot of consideration for its addictive songs. All of the songs that the artists have launched up to now have gone viral, primarily dominating the web by way of TikTok challenges.

Regardless of being younger at age, the lady group has showcased its influential aura one too many instances. Three out of the 5 NewJeans members are model ambassadors of luxurious vogue manufacturers.

They’ve already bagged the Finest Rookie Artist on the 2023 Golden Disc Awards and Finest Feminine Artist on the 2022 MAMA Awards, amongst many different awards, inside simply months after their debut. Naturally, the group-breaking Okay-pop lady group popped up on NME’s 100 Rising Artists listing.


The final Korean artist on NME’s 100 Rising Artists is NMIXX, the now six-member Okay-pop lady group underneath SQU4D, JYP Leisure. The group members are LILY, HAEWON, SULLYOON, BAE, JIWOO, and KYUJIN, whereas their former member, Jinni, lately left the group and the company in October 2022.

NMIXX, which debuted in February 2022, has launched many ground-breaking tracks like DICE, OO, Funky Glitter Christmas, and so forth. which have gone viral, making their enthusiastic discography a private favourite for the Okay-pop fandom.

With fairly a handful of Korean artists popping up on NME’s 100 Rising Artists, the Okay-pop trade has as soon as once more confirmed its ever-growing affect and publicity within the music trade.

Fast Hyperlinks

Extra from Sportskeeda

Edited by Abhipsa Choudhury


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *