Skip to content

Welsh Rugby Union | Wales & Areas

Ken Owens will captain the squad for the championship.

Wyn Jones, Dewi Lake and Liam Williams return to the squad having missed the Autumn Nations Sequence attributable to harm. There are additionally remembers for Leon Brown, Rhys Carre, Rhys Patchell, Aaron Wainwright, Rhys Webb and Owen Williams.

4 uncapped gamers are chosen. Rhys Davies, who was referred to as into Wales camp in the course of the autumn, options alongside Ospreys group mate Keiran Williams plus Cardiff Rugby duo Mason Grady and Teddy Williams.

One other six gamers might be in line to make their first Six Nations look together with Rio Dyer, Joe Hawkins and Dafydd Jenkins, who made their worldwide debuts final November.

17.01.23 – Wales Rugby Squad Announcement -Warren Gatland after naming his Wales Squad for the 6 Nations.

Gatland mentioned: “It is in all probability a much bigger squad than I would usually identify, however we need to have Six Nations and in addition look ahead to the World Cup.

“We have some children which have are available in after which we have some older very skilled gamers that we have to handle. It is trying on the entire ingredient for the squad and the way we get the stability proper, as a result of that is positively going to be a problem over the following ten months.

“There are some gamers that have been unfortunate they did not’ make the squad, so the message to them is maintain working exhausting you are not out of the image.

Relating to the captaincy, Gatland added: “Ken’s extremely skilled and a passionate Welshman – it means so much to him to play for Wales. He is additionally very talked-about with the gamers.

“He got here again from harm and was completely excellent in the course of the autumn marketing campaign. Most likely, in the event you’re choosing a group in the intervening time he is the primary in that place. However he will have some competitors with Dewi and Bradley as properly which goes to be nice.”

Warren Gatland after being named Wales Head Coach with WRU Chief Government Steve Phillips (left) and Chairman Ieuan Evans on the Principality Stadium, Cardiff.

The squad will meet up on the nationwide coaching base in Hensol on Monday 23 January forward of its first sport towards Eire which can happen at a offered out Principality Stadium, Cardiff on Saturday 4 February (KO 2.15pm).

As well as, Jonathan Thomas is confirmed as the ultimate appointment to the Wales senior males’s teaching group. He could have accountability for the contact space.

Wales v Australia – Jonathan Thomas along with his fiftieth cap in 2009

Former Worcester Warriors head coach Thomas, who received 67 caps for Wales between 2003 and 2011, has most lately been working as a forwards guide for Ealing Trailfinders. He additionally spent 4 years at Bristol Bears as protection and forwards coach, serving to them obtain promotion to the Premiership and win the European Problem Cup.

Thomas took up his teaching function at Bristol instantly after ending his profitable 14-year enjoying profession the place he represented Swansea, Ospreys and Worcester at membership stage. Throughout his 67-cap worldwide profession, Thomas was concerned in each Wales sport in the course of the 2005 and 2008 Grand-Slam successful campaigns. He went to 2 Rugby World Cups (2003 and 2007) and appeared in each Wales senior males’s Six Nations squad between 2004 and 2011.

Talking about his appointment Thomas mentioned: “I am delighted and honored to be a part of the teaching group. As a passionate Welshman my dream and ambition rising up was to play for Wales. Since ending enjoying and going into teaching my ambition has been to develop into a part of the worldwide teaching arrange.

“Being profitable and galvanizing our nice nation is what it is all about and I am decided to help and assist make a distinction to the gamers and employees.”

WALES SQUAD FOR 2023 Guinness Six Nations
Forwards (20)

Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby 17 caps)
Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 45 caps)
Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 17 caps)
Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 8 caps)
Ken Owens (Scarlets – 86 caps), Captain
Bradley Roberts (Dragons – 3 caps)
Leon Brown (Dragons – 22 caps)
Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 67 caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 45 caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys – 41 caps)
Rhys Davies (Ospreys – uncapped)
Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs – 1 cap)
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 155 caps)
Teddy Williams (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)
Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 95 caps)
Jac Morgan (Ospreys – 6 caps)
Tommy Reffel (Leicester Tigers – 4 caps)
Justin Tipuric (Ospreys – 89 caps)
Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs – 3 caps)
Aaron Wainwright (Dragons – 36 caps)

Backs (17)

Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 16 caps)
Rhys Webb (Ospreys – 36 caps)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 40 caps)
Dan Biggar (Toulon – 103 caps)
Rhys Patchell (Scarlets – 21 caps)
Owen Williams (Ospreys – 3 caps)
Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)
Joe Hawkins (Ospreys – 1 cap)
George North (Ospreys – 109 caps)
Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 25 caps)
Keiran Williams (Ospreys – uncapped)
Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 44 caps)
Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 55 caps)
Rio Dyer (Dragons – 3 caps)
Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets – 97 caps)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 22)
Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 81)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *